SOUTH WAIRARAPA DISTRICT COUNCIL

27 JUNE 2018

AGENDA ITEM C5

PROPOSED DISTRICT LICENSING COMMITTEE MEMBER EXTENSION

Purpose of Report

To seek to extend the appointments of the current District Licensing Committee (DLC) list members, Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

Recommendations

Officers recommend that the Council:

- 1. Receive the information.
- 2. Recommend that the appointments for all current list members of DLC be extended for a period of five years, until 30th June 2023 subject to their agreement.
- 3. Recommend that the current DLC Chairperson (Julie Riddell) be extended for a period of five years, until 30th June 2023 subject to her agreement.
- 4. Recommend that the current DLC Deputy Chairperson (Councillor Margaret Craig) be extended until 12th October 2019 subject to her agreement.

1. Executive Summary

A territorial authority must establish and maintain a list of persons approved to be members of the DLC. The term of appointment for all current list members expires on 30th June 2018.

As such, the appointment of current DLC members needs to be extended.

2. Background

The appointments for all current DLC members expires on 30th June 2018. The previous appointments were made for 12 months and dependent upon the outcome of the Wairarapa amalgamation proposal and the finalisation of the Wairarapa Provisional Local Alcohol Policy (WPLAP).

Since the last appointments were made, the amalgamation proposal has been resolved and the WPLAP process is nearing completion. Appeals against the WPLAP have been heard and resolved. The original submitters were advised and given an opportunity to appeal the proposed changes. There were no further appeals and as such, the WPLAP is currently awaiting final approval by the Alcohol Regulatory and Licensing Authority (ARLA).

Both the Chairperson (Commissioner Julie Riddell) and Deputy Chairperson (Councillor Margaret Craig) have undergone additional training since their previous appointment. The List Members, Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson have all had further experience with alcohol licensing matters since the last appointment. Officers suggest that this knowledge and experience with the legislation and processes is a good foundation and wish to extend this further.

The appointment periods sought for the DLC List Members and Chairperson are for the maximum term of 5 years. The period of appointment of Councillor Margaret Craig as Deputy Chairperson is for the maximum period remaining before the next local government elections, with 12 October 2019 being polling day.

2.1 List Members

The list members are jointly appointed by the three Wairarapa councils in accordance with section 192 of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012. The councils established the Wairarapa Alcohol Working Group to recommend these members. The seven currently appointed list members are:

- Damien Pivac
- Gregory Ariell
- Jessie Hunt
- Catherine Rossiter-Stead
- Bruce Farley
- Andrew Beck
- Donald Adams

Officers recommend that the appointments for the Chairperson and List Members be extended for the maximum period of 5 years, subject to their approval. This will allow for consistency and well-informed decision making for the mid-term future.

Officers recommend that the appointment for the Deputy Chairperson be extended until 12 October 2019, subject to her approval. This will allow for consistency and cross-cover between the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson until the polling day of the 2019 local government elections.

Prepared by:	Shane Sykes, Environmental Services Manager
Reviewed By:	Russell O'Leary, Group Manager Planning and
	Environment